Did you know?

Facts about India’s Independence

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel was elected as our first Prime Minister, not Nehru

Sardar Patel won the election but he stepped aside and Nehru took the charge, becoming the first Prime Minister of independent India.

Indian Flag was first hosted on 7th August 1906 and not on 15th August 1947

As per popular belief, the Indian Flag was first hoisted on 15th August 1947. That is not the case. Our National Flag is said to be first hoisted on 7th August 1906 in Parsee Bagan Square in Calcutta.

Vogue featured Nehru wearing his traditional coat. Couldn’t have guessed this one!

Jawaharlal Nehru was pictured in Vogue Magazine wearing his traditional coat. His jacket became a fashion itself and has sustained it’s way through all these years.

India got its name from river Indus and is called Bhartiya Ganrajya in Sanskrit

Indus, which was home to the Indus Valley Civilization as it is considered to be one of the first civilizations. The name ‘India’ was derived from the name of the river Indus.

National Anthem was officially adopted in 1950

India didn’t have any National Anthem at the time of Independence. Jana Gana Mana was written in 1911 by Rabindranath Tagore and was officially adopted in 1950.

Free India’s Parliament was represented by Hansa Mehta, on behalf of women

Hansa was a member of Advisory Committee and Sub Committee on Fundamental Rights. She advocated for equality and justice for women in India.

Indian Rupee in 1947 was Re 1 = $ 1

At the time of Independence, India didn’t have any outside borrowings. This arrangement continued until 1966 when the rupee was devalued and pegged to the U.S. dollar at a rate of 7.5 rupees = 1 dollar.

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru hoisted the flag 17 times on 15th August 1947

Nehru had the privilege of hosting the National Flag from Red Fort 17 times on 15th August as he addressed the nation as many times that day.

Share This